Statewide Interoperability Program Management Mission/Vision

Our Mission: md first logo

In the short-term, to develop and implement a reasonable and feasible solution framework that provides statewide, secure, coordinated, real-time voice and data communications that can span jurisdictional and organization boundaries. In the long-term, to establish a statewide public safety communications system that will be a standards-based open architecture that will address the needs of all stakeholders from the enterprise level. View the Statewide Communications Interoperability Plan.

Our Vision:

Achievement of a statewide system that will support communications interoperability and will facilitate real-time communications across boundaries of agencies, jurisdictions, levels of government, and ultimately, across State boundaries with Maryland's neighbors. Interoperable communications will ensure that Maryland's public safety providers can coordinate with one another, share information, and provide a consolidated response.

Maryland Interoperability Regions:

Maryland is divided into five interoperability regions as shown on the map below. Each region has established a governance structure and charter to oversee the development of interoperable communications. Click on the region names in the list below to read about what's being done to improve interoperable communications in their jurisdictions and in the State.

  1. WAGIN is the Washington, Allegany and Garrett Interoperability Network for the Western part of the State;
  2. The NCR (National Capital Region) Interoperability region consists of Prince George’s, Montgomery, and Frederick Counties;
  3. The Northern Interoperability Region of Baltimore City and the City of Annapolis, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard, and Anne Arundel counties joined to form CMARC – Central Maryland Area Radio Communications;
  4. SMIEC (Southern Maryland Interoperable Executive Committee) consists of Charles, Calvert and St. Mary’s Counties;
  5. ESCA (Eastern Shore Communications Alliance) consists of Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Caroline, Talbot, Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, Worcester counties and the town of Ocean City.

Interoperability Regions

Interoperability Regions

Interoperability Organizational Chart

Interoperability Organizational Chart

Governance Committee Members

View the members of these governance committees here.