Waterfall System Development Life Cycle

​​select a project type above to get started


The State Waterfall System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) model is a ten-phase methodology intended to reduce the risk of project failure through the application of a proven and incremental project development process. 

The SDLC 2010 revisions were developed with significant input from agency personnel, and the major framework has been modified to include tailored content for commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) implementations, hardware upgrades, multiple release projects, expanded role definitions, glossaries, and acronyms.  Agencies are reminded that technology projects should be built on solid business processes, and the work to define business processes and rules is as important as the technology that supports it.

Use of the SDLC framework is mandatory for all major information technology development projects (MITDPs) and is also applicable for smaller IT efforts.  MITDPs are defined as any State IT effort that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  1. The estimated cost of development equals or exceeds $1 million.
  2. The project is to support a critical business function associated with the public health, education, safety, or financial well-being of the citizens of Maryland.
  3. The DoIT Secretary determines that the project requires the special attention and consideration given to a major information technology development project due to:
  • The significance of the project’s potential benefits or risks
  • The impact of the project on the public or government
  • The public visibility of the project
  • Other reasons as determined by the Secretary 

Projects that also meet the SDLC methodology and MITDP criteria include:

  1. All ongoing projects with planned enhancements budgets of $1 million or more
  2. Legacy transformation efforts